Levels of NICU

NICU hospital in bangalore
The classifications of levels of NICU is defined according to the level of complexity of care provided

Level I neonatal care (basic)

This is a well-newborn nursery: and has the capability to:

  • Provide neonatal resuscitation at every delivery
  • Evaluate and provide postnatal care to healthy newborn infants
  • Apgar score < 6
  • Stabilize and provide care for infants born > 34 weeks' gestation who remain physiologically stable
  • Stabilize and provide care for infants born > 34 weeks' gestation <   2   k g 
  • Stabilize and provide care for physiologically unstable full term infants who require hemodynamic or respiratory support and birth weight <   2   k g
  • Stabilize newborn infants who are ill and those born at <34 weeks' gestation until transfer to a facility that can provide the appropriate level of neonatal care

Level II neonatal care (specialty)

Special care nursery:

level II units are subdivided into 2 categories based on their ability to provide assisted ventilation including continuous positive airway pressure

Level IIA:  has the capabilities to
  • Resuscitate and stabilize preterm and/or ill infants before transfer to a facility at which newborn intensive care is provided
  • Provide care for infants born at >30 weeks' gestation and weighing </= 1500 g
    • Apgar score 4 to 6
    • who have physiologic immaturity such as apnea of prematurity, inability to maintain body temperature, or inability to take oral feedings or
    • who are moderately ill with problems that are anticipated to resolve rapidly and are not anticipated to need subspecialty services on an urgent basis
  • Provide care for infants who are convalescing after intensive care
Level IIB:  has the capabilities of a level IIA nursery and the additional capability to provide mechanical ventilation for brief durations (<24 hours) or continuous positive airway pressure

Level III: (subspecialty) NICU:

Level III NICUs are subdivided into 3 categories

Level III A: has the capabilities to
  • Provide comprehensive care for infants born at >28 weeks' gestation and weighing >1000 g
  • Apgar Scores 3 and below are generally regarded as critically low
  • Provide sustained life support limited to conventional mechanical ventilation
  • Perform minor surgical procedures such as placement of central venous catheter or inguinal hernia repair
Level III B NICU: has the capabilities to provide
  • Comprehensive care for extremely low birth weight infants (</=1000g and </= 28 weeks' gestation)
  • Advanced respiratory support such as high-frequency ventilation and inhaled nitric oxide for as long as required
  • Prompt and on-site access to a full range of peadiatric medical subspecialists
  • Advanced imaging, with interpretation on an urgent basis, including computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, and echocardiography
  • Pediatric surgical specialists and paediatric anesthesiologists on site or at a closely related institution to perform major surgery such as ligation of patent ductus arteriosus and repair of abdominal wall defects, necrotizing enterocolitis with bowel perforation, tracheoesophageal fistula and/or esophageal atresia, and myelomeningocele
Level III C NICU: has the capabilities of a level IIIB NICU and is located within an institution that has the capability to provide Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation and surgical repair of complex congenital cardiac malformations that require cardiopulmonary bypass

Ask The Expert